top of page
  • Writer's picture

Tutorial: Ruffled Tie Strap top

You should know first that I am very stingy when it comes to fabric. So imagine my excitement when my local Spotlight started doing a 50c-per-metre deal on all their remnants.

I LIVE on remnants. Being small (and flat unfortunately) meant a piece of 70cm long fabric could go a fair way, especially for tops and shift dresses. So obviously I HAD to stock up on remnants.I've been seeing ruffles everywhere on Pinterest and Instagram, and I fell in love with this top:



It looked simple enough and perfect for a piece of white chiffon/rayon remnant I had.

Without thinking through much, I whizzed up my own version:




Due to my lack of planning, I made two small errors, although I thoroughly enjoyed wearing this top right away.

I created an elastic casing and inserted an elastic, but because of this it was tricky to know the position of the straps, as the ruffles may not be completely even depending on how much you move it to one side.The ruffles were nowhere near as BIG as I wanted them to be.

After trouble-shooting, I'd created an improved top and a free tutorial for you guys! All it takes is a metre (or less) fabric and a piece of elastic! All the measurements you need are in the video.





I hope you enjoy making and wearing this as much as I did.

Lorraine xxx

633 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page