top of page
  • Writer's picture

Pattern Hack: Claudia Dress + Newlook Culottes = the comfiest jumpsuit!

When Tessuti released their new Claudia Dress pattern, I felt a prayer had been answered. I have forever been looking for a dress pattern with a straight neckline and also does not require a zipper.

As much as I loved the length of the original design, I made my Claudia Dresses mini length. And might I add, I made both within the week?






 And then I thought, why stop there?

I loved how versatile that neckline was, and I knew there were so many combinations I can create with it. Such as a jumpsuit.

Jumpsuits are EVERYWHERE this season. (Click on photos for links to their websites) Seeing my friends wearing jumpsuits also got me excited about making my own.

All I needed was a culottes pattern. I fished into my pattern stash and dug out this Newlook 6350 pattern that I had only traced and never used.

I was planning to make simple triangular back ties so I wouldn't have to worry about fitting or how to get into the jumpsuit. I just had to make sure the bodice front and the culotte front matched up.

And what would you know, they pretty much matched perfectly apart from a 5mm difference!

The rest was pretty straight forward:

Sewed darts on bodice and facingSewed up back ties and straps, attached both to bodiceAttach facingSew up the culottes and attach front to bodice with 2cm seam allowanceSewed down 2cm seam allowance for the elastic casing and insert elasticHem the pants and VOILA! It's done!These are seriously SO comfy I can run and dance in them! Like my good friend said, these are totally secret pyjamas!







232 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page