top of page
  • Writer's picture

My Hacked M7969 Dress in MaaiDesign's Zen Garden Print



Fabric texture

When MaaiDesign reached out to me to try out their new Mountain Collection, the colour-fearing person inside of me was so happy when I saw the Zen Garden print. Doesn’t it just remind you of Pac-man?! But like, a cool, minimalist version of it.




I was not sure what I would make with it, as I always find it hard to decide on a project without seeing and feeling the fabric in person. I was tossing between a long dress or a jumpsuit (perhaps the peppermint jumpsuit!), but I was going to make that decision when I do touch the fabric. This is like, fabric tinder. I’ve swiped right on the fabric, but I just had to meet it in person!

When I received the cotton poplin in the print Zen Garden, my hand legit slipped on the fabric. It was the smoothest, most luxurious-feeling cotton poplin you can feel. Part of me was expecting a stiffer fabric, but this cotton poplin was edging on a lightweight cotton sateen.


It was decided – I want to float around in a dress made from this.




Oh man, I wish you could’ve been there when I gathered the sleeves, the shoulders and the waistline. I usually have to do an ironing trick (where I gather up the fabric as much as I can, press it before loosening it) to ensure even gathers. However, with this poplin, it gathers up into the most delicate gathers, cold, first try, no effort needed. I have honestly never experienced such an easy time with gathering cotton. As someone who loves the look but loathes the process of gathering, this was by far the most enjoyable part of using this fabric.


Pattern


I know I’ve made a gazillion of the Mccalls 7969 dress, and so have many sewists, but there is a reason why this dress is a cult-classic, right? It just has the most beautiful voluminous sleeves, perfect for this fabric to be shown off.


I made some changes to the pattern. I wanted the neckline to be higher to show off the print more at the front. I traced off the front bodice, extended the centre front line and raised it considerably to eliminate the wrap-front. Now that it looked like a normal bodice front, I added a 1cm seam allowance to it. This would allow me to create a front opening that has 3 ties attached to it.




I pressed the front by 0.5cm, attached the middle and bottom ties, before pressing it back by another 0.5cm and sewed it down to finish it. I constructed the rest of the dress as usual, but extended the neckline binding at the front to create the top tie.


If I were to make this dress again, I would raise the neckline even more, and move the two bottom ties up. The current opening at the front is actually a little too low for me. My bra does show through the gaps between the ties, so I think I’m going to sew up the gap at the bottom to make it more work-friendly!

If you're after some exceptional-quality fabric, be sure to check out MaaiDesign's Mountain Collection, and of course their many other fabrics!!


983 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page