top of page
  • Writer's picture

Kids Sewing Workshop Reflection



It's been exactly a week since my first lot of children's sewing workshops have concluded - three days of two 2-hour workshops each = 12 hours of sewing with my little sewcialites!

I learnt A LOT through these workshops, such as these:


1. They will hold it in because they don't want to stop sewing! Therefore the toilet was NOT used enough despite the close proximity. Which leads to my next point:


2. Kids CAN focus for a long time if they're fully engrossed in something they loveSewing on dot-to-dot sheets are incredibly fun


3. Hand sewing actually takes a lot more time than I anticipated


I have to say, the most rewarding aspect of these workshops wasn't seeing them complete their projects, but hearing them say they couldn't wait to sew again! It was also really interesting to see their different personalities and temperaments come to the surface in the act of sewing: you'd get some who get in the seat and want to start drifting in their new-found sewing vehicle; some who really go through a mental checklist before pressing on the pedal (fabric in place, needle down, presser foot down, hmph!); some who use their own snacks as interval sewing rewards.


Lastly, I really loved using my space at home for this workshop. I don't know why I NEVER thought about it until my parents suggested it! The light, space and toilet location was perfect. the glass sliding door also separated us from the rest of the house. I'm just sad none of the photos showed the bunting I hung at every big window - we were all facing the windows in the photos because hey, natural light is just so flattering.


I'm now excited about improving the classes, and maybe even putting together some term classes, as one of the kids suggested. That way there's more progression in the workshops. I really liked the thought of that! 




56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page