top of page
  • Writer's picture

Dawn Jeans Pattern Review

I recently made my first pair of pants that I actually love!


Don't get me wrong, I'm totally a pants girl, but making pants? Let's just say I've never had much luck with finding the perfect design and fit with patterns.


I first met Megan Nielsen's Dawn Jeans Pattern mid-last year, when I was one of the pattern testers. Although I did end up making a pair of black jeans out of twill, because they had absolutely NO give, I was afraid to sit down in them. Also - and this was probably my biggest boo boo - I was too quick to assume I'd fit into the smallest size (1cm smaller than my waist, surely I can squeeze into them, right? right...?) and that's the one I ended up using. Needless to say, I was deflated when I slaved on a pair of black pants that didn't fit.



Fast forward 6 months later, I saw these beautiful white wide leg dawn jeans on Megan Nielsen Pattern's instagram and I was obsessed. It sparked my desire to give it another go!

So there are 4 styles included in this pattern - a tapered jean, a wide leg jean, a straight leg jean and a jean short. They feature a high rise that sits on the natural waist, classic jean details and THREE closure options for the fly!


I found this beautiful curtain at IKEA - 100% cotton with blue, red and yellow stripes woven through it. As soon as I saw them I could envision it being some sort of bottoms. After all, vertical stripes are the way to go when you've got short legs like mine, right?


I chose to make the straight leg jean in size 2 (second size up) with an exposed button fly. The instructions were incredibly clear, and she made sure to have in bold letters the important info, such as when to use top stitch thread and regular thread. That was something I had to switch between. I ended up setting up 2 machines, one with regular thread and the other with topstitch thread, which made it much quicker and enjoyable. By the way, who knew topstitching can be so relaxing?!




The pants came together quickly, but my only regret is not taking in the waist before sewing the waist band on. They were a bit loose around my waist, but quite snug around my hips and thighs. It didn't bother me too much because I always tuck my tops in, but next time that is one thing I'd do. I think I was worried that the pants won't fit if I took it in.

For the hem, I frayed it instead of folding it in and hemming it the normal way. I followed this tutorial by Seamwork Magazine.



So basically, here's what I think about the pattern:


PROs:

The instructions and pictures are incredibly clear. I believe this would be an achievable project for a confident beginner.

The style of the jeans are right on trend, and very flattering  - I mean, anything high waisted just looks great on most body types

The fly variation: exposed button fly, zip fly and button fly. These can give the jeans a completely different look depending on which one you choose. I feel like I was getting more out of this pattern for the price!

They were fairly easy to fit on me, which would've just involved taking the sides in.


CONs:

I really can't think of any, given how well these jeans turned out!


Lastly, some pictures of the finished pants! I really hope you give this pattern a go too!













709 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page